Regional Advisory Council

Regional Advisory Council – supported by the DSI Louth Meath branch


The Regional Advisory Council(RAC) is an independent self-advocacy group for adults with Down syndrome in the North East area.  The 14 member council, consisting primarily of people from Meath and Louth but also some from Westmeath and Cavan, is the first of its kind within DSI’s 25 branches.  Based on the successful National Advisory Council model, the RAC offers an opportunity for the branch members to have a structured input into the plans and activities of the Louth Meath and other local branches.


Tomas Nally, Annmarie Whelan, Niamh Mc Nally, Megan Mc Cormick, Eleanor Murray,B-R Fintan Bray , Mike Egan Louth Meath DSI resource officer,Brendan O' Shea, Conor O' Dowd, Helena Connors DSI council ficilitator national advocacy officer, Liam Foley, Paul Radford Chairperson and Cathal Byrne and Allyson Maher at the newly formed regional DSI advisory council Launch at the Conyngham Arms Slane Photo Jimmy Weldon

The Regional Advisory Council meets once a month, in the Conyngham Arms, Slane.  The first series of meetings form a training and team-building course for the council members, leading to the election of council officers(Chairperson, Secretary, Treasurer etc.) in mid 2020.  With the support of facilitators, the council officers and members will then take over the running and activities of the Advisory Council themselves for the 2020/2021 year.

Speaking at the first meeting of the Council, in the Conyngham Arms Slane, branch chairperson Paul Radford said “We are proud to be the first branch in Ireland to commence the Regional Advisory Council initiative.  We have known for a long time, as both parents and committee members, that people with Down syndrome have their own voice and opinion about how they want to live their lives.  The RAC will ensure that those voices are listened to, those opinions respected and acted upon.”

Council facilitator and DSI National Advocacy Officer, Helena Connors said “We are delighted that the Louth Meath branch are taking the lead on the RAC programme and we hope to follow suit with other branches across our countrywide membership.  Over the next two years, the Regional Advisory Council members will engage in structured self-advocacy and organisational skills training that will enable them to be confident and effective self-advocates.  They will be electing their own officers and speaking out on the issues of concern to themselves and the communities in which they live.  Watch this space!”

The current RAC members are:

Mr Liam Foley, Enfield, Co. Meath.

Ms Niamh McNally, Termonfeckin, Co. Louth.

Ms Megan McCormick, Drogheda, Co. Louth.

Ms Michelle Whelehan, Navan, Co. Meath.

Ms Eleanor Murray, Trim, Co. Meath.

Ms Allyson Maher, Ratoath, Co. Meath.

Mr Brendan O’Shea, Drogheda, Co. Louth.

Mr Conor O’Dowd, Drogheda, Co. Louth.

Mr Tomás Nally, Navan, Co. Meath.

Mr Cathal Byrne, Dunshaughlin, Co. Meath.

Mr Fintan Bray, Delvin, Co. Westmeath.

Ms Monica O’Gorman, Mullingar, Co. Westmeath.

Ms Eileen Dunne, Virginia, Co. Cavan.

Mr Jason McGivern, Monasterboice, Co. Louth.

For further information on the Regional Advisory Council, please contact Regional Resource Officer, Mike Egan, at 086.3729511 or